top of page
Search

Tropico VI Blog Post:

Tropico VI is probably my favorite game we have played in class besides Call of Duty. It is again another Civilization VI video game in the sense of it is basically creating a civilization in Tropico which is an island you choose at the beginning of the game, and it is located in the Caribbean. Only this time it looks like it would be creating a civilization in which the time period setting is the World Wars and later. You start the game with customizing your role of what your El Presidente will look like and start to build your island.

My performance of this game is still not as good as people who understand it entirely, but my progress is not bad. I was able to create a stable government got a lot of people unemployed and had a lot of fun. It took a while for me to colonize the neighboring island, but I was able to do it even though it was a huge pain to get stuff built there. From a historical standpoint most video games such as Tropico or Civilization VI have historical accuracies in them. With Civilization VI it was mostly the process of creating the Civilization and watching the economy, government, weapons get better as time goes by and sometimes tells us what relationships with other countries were like at the time and how their leaders were like when it comes to military as an example. With Tropico VI the only historical fun fact I can remember that the game gave me was that Saddam Hussein used Whitney Houston’s song I will always love you as his campaign song. From thinking historically most island countries as an example the Philippines were controlled by the U.S. at some point but then became their own country. When you begin this game, you control the island as if it were yours and you have pirates in this game, but I have not built a cove because I figured that is not a good idea.

In the beginning of the semester, we talked about is Civilization VI history and we all basically said the same thing which is yes and no. You can never say something is history unless it is physically present. When it comes to video games and in this case Tropico VI it is a fictional concept with some historical accuracies. From the idea of developing a nation is accurate enough to say it is history but the game itself is not. This question is a question that can be answered in many ways but the thing that makes this question unique is that there is no right answer. It is mostly based on your opinion with historical knowledge and facts.

How does this game help me with what I want to do in my future in a sports management career? Well simple really strategy and putting your money into a good and effective use. In the sports management world, strategy is important especially when it comes to planning because if you plan terribly your career could go south and if it works well, it could make you do better in the long run of your career. In the game you had to purchase buildings to build, create jobs, establish trades/trade routes, and many other things to run your country. The difference between running a sports team and a country is that running a country is a business that effects everyone in your country while in a sports franchise, your decisions only affect your team, fanbase, and anyone who works for the team.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Course Reflection

This class was probably the class that I have enjoyed the most in college so far. It created an interest for myself by playing video games that I would never in a million years buy because they look l

Empire: Total War Blog Post

Empire: Total War is a simulation-based video game where you start as an empire or country and basically simulates your country’s progression over the course of time. In other words, this is basically

Assassins Creed Unity Blog Post 2

Due to technical difficulties the pictures will not load in my posts. When I signed up for this course, I knew for a fact that we would have to play one of the Assassin’s Creed games. So, at first, I

bottom of page