top of page
Search

Course Reflection

This class was probably the class that I have enjoyed the most in college so far. It created an interest for myself by playing video games that I would never in a million years buy because they look like trash. An example would be that I would never buy Civilization VI because I have no interest in those games and it looks pretty boring from an advertising standpoint. But, I have underestimated those games by a lot they are pretty fun even though it looks to be boring and it takes a while to understand them.

The only assignment I had the most difficulties with was the individual presentation. The game I chose was Call of Duty Vanguard and I personally enjoyed playing the game and doing research on the historical specifics of the game, but the presenting the project was the most difficult because of the guy who went before me. No offense to him he did an excellent job, but he made my project look like that I did no effort on my project when I did a ton of work on it so the thought of my presentation being not so good as his kept coming back to myself and I could not remember everything that I wanted to say.

Throughout playing this game I was curious to what was accurate and non accurate historically because that was the point of the project and I decided to watch a tv show or a documentary with different episodes, on Netflix that my Dad loves to watch every Sunday night called The Greatest Events of WWII in colour. I decided to watch this because in high school, I always learned more interesting information about stuff like Stalingrad or the Battle of Midway that I talked about in my project and it made me understand more about the reasons behind making the character and how they put it into a story. The two interesting points that I found out from the documentary that made a better understanding of the video game is the fact that on the Japanese ships during the Battle of Midway there was a huge red dot painted on the runway as a Japanese symbol and the dive bombers used that as their target same in the video game and the fact that Soviet snipers were mostly women and they were trained to be nurse as well. There was a character who was a women soldier in Stalingrad so it was interesting to see about that.

The best game we played in class was definitely Nazi zombies in Call of Duty WWII because well that was a game that I always loved to play with friends and it was interesting to me because I never play Call of Duty WWII because I thought it was going to be a bust and I did not want to waste money on it at the time but it was fun to play. The worst game we played in class in my opinion was Assassins Creed only because I was bad at it. Do not get me wrong it is an excellent and fun game I just suck at it.

The worst part in general about the assignments was that I could never get pictures on my blog posts on this website. I spent hours and hours trying to get photos on here and thank god I do not type my blogs on the website and put it on a word document first because Ninety percent of the time I tried to get photos on any of my blog posts, it just erased my entire post and I would have had to start over. The best part about the assignments were the fact that I could write about something that I enjoy doing every day of my life and that is playing video games. Even though I mostly play sports video games, I do enjoy playing other video games and talking about them in depth, is enjoyable.

The class in general was fun and educational. Most of the class were education majors and they always mention if the game we or they played for their presentation, should be used as a teaching tool. For most of our games I would say only the simulation based ones which were Empire Total War, Civilization VI, and Tropico 6 because I did not see anything that would make my parents when I was ten say anything that would prevent myself at age ten from buying those games. The others only in college or seniors in high school because of reasons that are in the game. Overall, this class was fun, educational and I will never forget about this class in my college life.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tropico VI Blog Post:

Tropico VI is probably my favorite game we have played in class besides Call of Duty. It is again another Civilization VI video game in the sense of it is basically creating a civilization in Tropico

Empire: Total War Blog Post

Empire: Total War is a simulation-based video game where you start as an empire or country and basically simulates your country’s progression over the course of time. In other words, this is basically

Assassins Creed Unity Blog Post 2

Due to technical difficulties the pictures will not load in my posts. When I signed up for this course, I knew for a fact that we would have to play one of the Assassin’s Creed games. So, at first, I

bottom of page